Take My Word For It

November 29, 2012 Comments Off

Today, I’ll be brief.

I’m not the fastest cook in the kitchen. But I managed to makes these croquettes for lunch in record time. Just shy of an hour, including the cooking time. It would’ve taken me even less time if 1) I’d had some cooked quinoa and sweet potatoes on-hand in the fridge 2) I weren’t so terrible at flipping things in a skillet. (You should see my pancakes, crepes, and omelettes–they come out looking like little abstract expressionist masterpieces.)

This is the best picture I have of these croquettes. The rest fell apart.

Take my word for it. If I can do it, so can you.

Take the advice of the original recipe and add breadcrumbs to thicken the mixture. Other suggestions I have to offer: perhaps making the croquettes small, as opposed to large, palm-sized patties, like I did, would help them hold their shape better and cook faster.

I discovered through sheer improvisation that the original recipe is quite flexible. The original recipe calls for russet potatoes. Since we eat a lot of sweet potatoes in my house, I used those instead. I also added extra quinoa (for a protein boost) and used dry spices rather than fresh ones.

I wonder what else I might throw into the mix next time. I imagine some pumpkin or sunflower seeds would enhance the texture. I might even switch out the grains next time–millet or brown rice might be nice–or add some chopped wilted greens or caramelized shallots…

I could go on.

Sweet Potato and Quinoa Croquettes (adapted from Cook Republic)

-2 medium-large sweet potatoes

-1.5-2 cups cooked quinoa (I used tri-colored)

-1/2 cup fresh or frozen peas

-2 teaspoons cumin

-2 teaspoons coriander

-1 teaspoon muchi curry powder

-1 teaspoon fine grain sea salt

-2 small cloves of garlic, finely chopped

-Extra-virgin coconut oil for the skillet

-Scrub, peel, and chop the sweet potatoes into small pieces. Steam them in a pot with a steamer basket inside of it until very tender. Once the sweet potatoes are through cooking, transfer them to a large mixing bowl and mash.

-Meanwhile, rinse and cook the quinoa. Drain any excess water and add to the mixing bowl with the mashed sweet potatoes.

-Add the spices, salt, and garlic to the bowl and mix to combine. If the mixture is too thin, add breadcrumbs, no more than a 1/4-cup at a time. Keep in mind that you want the mixture to retain some moisture. Adding too many breadcrumbs could dry it out.

-Heat the coconut oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Shape the mixture into croquettes. Aim for about 1/4-inch thickness for each croquette.

-Cook the croquettes in small batches until their sides are golden brown and crispy. Figure 4-5 minutes per side. Allow to cool slightly before serving.

Makes 8-9 large croquettes, though you can certainly make smaller croquettes.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Take My Word For It at notes from a distance.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

