Hej there

July 31, 2012 § 1 Comment

I’ll inaugurate this blog with a quick and dirty update.

I made it to Stockholm in one piece. After two flights, one airport shuttle bus ride, and a good hour or so of wandering in circles around the downtown area looking for my hostel, that is. And I did it all while lugging a 37-pound backpack. Who would’ve thought a pair of hip boots and a rain suit could add so much weight?

What? You mean you’ve never thought to bring hip boots and a rain suit on a trip to Europe? What am I doing with these things? No, I’m not just preparing for nasty weather. I’ll get to that later.

§ One Response to Hej there

  • Donna says:

    Hi Em,

    Glad you made it in one piece. Unfortunately, I recall the huge backpack lugging from many years ago, too. One piece of advice for the end of your trip…don’t spend all your money…otherwise, you might find yourself on a long layover in the Iceland airport with not even enough pocket change to buy a Harlequin Romance (the only books they had at the time). Nothing like staring at the back of the B727 seat in front of you for many hours! (Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything.) Oh, and don’t give your backpack to any front desk clerks…they might demand 7 franks before they’ll give it back. (Ask your mom about that one…) I look forward to more posts!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hej there at notes from a distance.

meta

