Day One

August 2, 2012 § 1 Comment

My first day “on the job” is officially over. I’ve left my wellies and my snazzy, bright green rain suit out to dry. I can milk a cow with either my right or left hand, but not so much with both hands at the same time. At least not yet. The sting of the stinging nettles that brushed my hands as I picked raspberries lingers. More than a few pages of my travel journal are now filled with instructions for pasteurization. I ate meat–raised and prepared on the premises–for the first time in a long time.

You could say I’m being indoctrinated into farm life. Slowly, but surely.

It’s inspiring to be able to spend time with individuals who’ve chosen to dedicate their lives to thoughtful food production and consumption. This is hard but satisfying work. Today was just a preview of what’s to come in the next few weeks. Everything I learn here will serve me well in subsequent assignments.

Before I sign off for the evening, I’d like to share a few more highlights from my day:

–It’s quiet out here in the Danish countryside. How quiet? The only sounds I heard as I drifted off to sleep the other night were the those of flies buzzing and a single sheep baa-ing.

–I discovered as I woke up this morning that my room has quite the view. There’s a lovely body of water off in the distance. Today I learned that body of water is actually a fjord. (See image below.)

–In addition to a Jersey cow, a small family of chickens, a sheep, a few pigs, a flock of ducks, and two dogs, my hosts own a teeny Shetland pony. It has its own pen and everything.

–Haloumi cheese is kind of amazing. I inhaled it at lunch today.

–The same goes for new potatoes. They’re also kind of amazing.

I’ll have even more stories in the days to come, although I wonder if they’ll top what I experienced today.

Image
§ One Response to Day One

  • Rose Metting says:

    Ahh! Why is there so much stingIng nettle in Scandinavia?! Unsavory memories.

    Well, maybe the Elderflower makes up for it. Yum!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day One at notes from a distance.

meta

