To Lake Mälaren

August 16, 2012 § 1 Comment

I’ve arrived at my next volunteer post: a farmstead situated about eighty kilometers outside of Stockholm, in the middle of a forest, along a placid lake.

I haven’t been here for more than two hours, but this experience is already shaping up to be very different from the one I had previously in Denmark.

My Danish hosts preached the gospel of self-sufficiency, producing organic foods primarily for their own consumption. My Swedish hosts practice organic farming as well but with another mindset. Here, it’s not a matter of keeping their loved ones well fed. They run a proper business, which includes a restaurant and a shop. Their aim is to offer delicious organic foods to their customers. 

I sense that I can gain an interesting perspective from spending time here. I look forward to seeing what unfolds in the next month or so.

**I’d also like to take a moment to thank everyone for all of the lovely comments you’ve left for me. I’m not the most responsive blogger, but I’ve read every single one of them. I’m always happy to hear from you. And thanks for the birthday wishes!

§ One Response to To Lake Mälaren

  • Martha Wieland says:

    Emma… good luck and good eating! It sounds wonderful. I bet it was hard to leave Copenhagen, but onward….. Love, G & G

What’s this?

You are currently reading To Lake Mälaren at notes from a distance.

meta

