Dirty Boots

October 6, 2012 § 1 Comment

These are the boots that I wore during all four of my volunteer posts.

These boots kept my feet warm and dry. I learned how to milk in these boots. I wore them on many long walks through the countryside. I weeded, mucked out stables, picked loads of fruits and vegetables, pruned shrubs, and mixed cement while wearing these boots.

To save space in my pack, I would wear them while traveling between volunteer posts. And I’m sure I garnered some strange looks whenever I did this.

I left these boots at my final post in Brittany for another volunteer to use. I don’t have much use for them now that I’m no longer farming. They’re quite bulky. They also smell horrible.

I fly home tomorrow morning. I’m not ready to stop posting. I still have many ideas, stories, and images for you. I need to regroup. For now, I’ll leave you with this image. I think it’s fitting.

Image

§ One Response to Dirty Boots

  • Molly says:

    Have a good trip home, ma chère. I know your mom and dad will be happy to see you!

    Love, Tante Molly

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dirty Boots at notes from a distance.

meta

