Because I Want It to Work

October 28, 2012 Comments Off on Because I Want It to Work

I’m moving to Portland, Oregon on January 12.

I actually came to this decision about a week ago. It didn’t feel quite real then. I booked a non-refundable, one-way flight today. Now it feels a little more real.

Although I stopped traveling so I could begin taking the steps I need to take in order to move out of my parents’ house, it took more than a few weeks for me to decide whether or not to go through with this. I’ve wanted to move out West since my college days. I knew that this is what I wanted. I also knew that if I stayed home (the Midwest) any longer, I’d be profoundly unhappy.

There was one question that haunted me: what if what you know will make you happy is impractical?

Perhaps moving to a place where I have few contacts and doing so without ample funds is unwise. Then I realized that I was letting logistics get in the way of a potentially satisfying future.

I’ll sort these things out soon enough. As my mother likes to tell me, I’ll make it work because I want it to work.

I took a lot of initiative while I was abroad. I had no choice. I handled a lot of strange situations and came out a bit stronger for it. Or I like to think I did.

In other words, I can handle this.

And why Portland and not Seattle or San Francisco? Nothing’s fixed. I could easily wind up in either of these cities one day, perhaps sooner than I expect. Or I could move somewhere completely different. But I figure Portland’s a good place to start. That and I hear there’s good food there. Lots of it.

 

 

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Because I Want It to Work at notes from a distance.

meta

